23 September 2010


Lighting for Tomorrow 2010 winners announced

At the American Lighting Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Las Vegas, NV, USA, the winners of the eighth annual Lighting for Tomorrow competition were announced. Organized by the ALA, the Consortium for Energy Efficiency (CEE), and the US Department of Energy, the solid-state lighting (SSL) competition aims to increase market acceptance and awareness of energy-efficient lighting by recognizing the best-designed energy-efficient lighting products on the residential market.

This year the competition was expanded beyond SSL fixtures to include LED replacement lamps as well as lighting control devices compatible with energy-efficient technologies such as LEDs and fluorescents. Fifty companies submitted a total of 107 SSL products, which were evaluated by a panel of nine judges on criteria such as color appearance, color rendering, application efficiency, and aesthetics. Winning entries included:

SSL fixtures:

  • Kichler Lighting, Design Pro LED Broad Roof LED Path Spread Light;
  • Kichler Lighting, Design Pro LED Modular and Disc System;
  • Edge Lighting, Scope LED Pendant;
  • Edge Lighting, Scope LED Monorail/Track Light;
  • Albeo Technologies Inc, Agito — Intelligent Task Light (honorable mention);
  • Blackstone International Ltd, Sunter Architect LED Desk Lamp (honorable mention); and
  • Cree LED Lighting, CR6 Downlight (honorable mention).

LED replacement lamps:

  • Philips Lighting, EnduraLED A19 Lamp.

Lighting controls:

  • Leviton Manufacturing Co Inc, Decora CFL Slide Dimmer;
  • Lutron Electronics Co Inc, Radio Powr Savr Occupancy/Vacancy Sensor with Maestro Wireless Switch; and
  • Legrand/Pass Seymour, RT1 7-Button Timer.

Search: LEDs SSL


For more: Latest issue of Semiconductor Today