AES Semigas


29 October 2020

IQE founder, president & CEO awarded IOP Gold Medal

Epiwafer foundry and substrate maker IQE plc of Cardiff, Wales, UK says that its founder, president & CEO Dr Drew Nelson OBE has been awarded the Institute of Physics ‘Katharine Burr Blodgett’ Gold Medal. He has also been made a fellow of the UK’s Institute of Physics (IOP).

The Katharine Burr Blodgett Medal is awarded for contributions to the application of physics in an industrial or commercial context. This year’s award was made to Nelson for “pioneering efforts in commercializing compound semiconductor materials and promoting the UK as the global leader in this field”.

This year’s IOP Awards “recognize and reward excellence in individuals and teams and their contribution to physics,” comments Institute of Physics’ president Jonathan Flint.

“I am extremely proud of the track record we have built at IQE and the leadership position we have developed in the global compound semiconductor industry,” says Nelson. “However, I recognize that none of this would be possible without the support of my colleagues at IQE and I remain extremely grateful for their ongoing commitment and dedication.”

Nelson intends to donate his prize award of £1000 to a local charity supporting people from underprivileged backgrounds to go through university.

See related items:

IQE reports record first-half revenue of £89.9m

Tags: IQE




Book This Space