AES Semigas


9 December 2022

UCSB’s Steven DenBaars and Jonathan Klamkin honored by Optica

University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB) College of Engineering professors Steven DenBaars and Jonathan Klamkin are among the 109 members from 24 countries who have been elected to the 2023 Fellow Class of Optica (the society advancing optics and photonics worldwide), formerly known as the Optical Society (OSA). Fellows are selected based on several factors, including outstanding contributions to business, education, research, engineering and service to Optica and the field.

“Congratulations to professors Steven DenBaars and Jonathan Klamkin,” says Tresa Pollock, interim dean of UCSB’s College of Engineering and Alcoa Distinguished Professor of Materials. “This prestigious and well-deserved recognition from their peers reflects their work to advance the field of optics and photonics and contribute to the next generation of energy-efficient technology.”

DenBaars, a distinguished professor in the Materials and Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Departments, was recognized for his “leadership and pioneering contributions to gallium nitride (GaN)-based materials and devices for solid-state lighting and displays”. Since joining the faculty at UCSB in 1991, DenBaars has helped to pioneer the field of solid-state lighting, establishing and improving GaN materials and devices used for lighting and displays. His specific research interests include growth of wide-bandgap semiconductors and their application to blue light-emitting diodes (LEDs) and lasers, and high-power electronic devices. An elected member of the National Academy of Engineering, DenBaars is also a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Klamkin was recognized for his “major contributions to integrated microwave photonics and photonic ICs, particularly integrated optical beam forming networks”. Klamkin's research areas of focus include: integrated photonics; silicon photonics; optical communications; nanophotonics; microwave photonics; compound semiconductors; photonic integration techniques; and electronic-photonic integration. His previous honors include the Young Investigator Award, US Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA); Director's Fellowship, DARPA; Early Career Faculty Award, NASA; and the Young Scientist Award, Photonics and Electromagnetics Research Symposium (PIERS).

See related items:

UCSB’s DenBaars to receive AAFM-Nakamura Award

Tags: LEDs